The Best Way to Eat Fruit

Standard

IMG_7029I love Superbowl Sunday. I could literally write a novel here professing my love to the NFL and football in general, but I will spare you. This post is just to provide my lovely readers with a cute Superbowl treat idea. Forget that Valentine’s Day is around the corner. And why are chocolate covered strawberries considered so romantic anyways? Feeding them to someone else? Why would you want to do that? You should eat them yourself. No sharing. So here’s my photo tribute to my favorite way to eat fruit: covered in chocolate.

To make these I used two bars of Ghirardelli semi-sweet baking chocolate and about a pound of washed strawberries. I also used a tube of cream cheese icing from Kroger.

First you’ll want to wash the strawberries and pat them dry with a paper towel. They need to be completely dry to dip in the chocolate.

IMG_7026

Next melt the chocolate in a small bowl using your preferredĀ  method. I like microwave. I’ve found it works best if you use the microwave at 50% power or medium power to heat the chocolate. There’s less chance of scorching if you do this. When the chocolate is melted dip/roll the strawberries in the chocolate and then place on a baking sheet lined with wax or parchment paper.

My note on dipping. It’s difficult to melt the chocolate in a bowl deep enough to dip the strawberries. I found that rolling the strawberries in the chocolate is the best way to cover the strawberries. You’ll want to let the excess drip off before setting the strawberry on the wax paper.

The dipped strawberries.

The dipped strawberries.

After the chocolate has set (you can put the tray in the fridge to speed up this process), you can start turning them into footballs. I used the icing and this was definitely not easy. If you’re a pro I’m sure you’ll be better than I was at piping. But I thought they looked pretty good overall.

IMG_7030

Laces out Dan!

Laces out Dan!

 

Hope everyone enjoys the Superbowl. This year I’m cheering for the 49’ers, but I won’t be upset if the Ravens win. More Superbowl recipes to come!

Leave a Reply

