Back home again in Indiana

Standard

And now for something completely different…

I’ve not blogged in a while, but I’ve been pretty busy. Between grading papers and wedding planning, it’s been a little hectic. Also my maid of honor introduced me to Pinterest. I’d heard of it, and had seen it before, but I was reluctant to get on because I knew I’d get sucked in and it would take over. As expected it did. I found so many things I want to make. So I might start putting more artsy-fartsy things on here as well. Starting today. My goal was to make some string art. The website I found suggested using wood and nails. That sounded a little too intense so I tried with canvas and pins. This did not work at all. So I decided to just do some painting instead. It was a pretty simple easy craft, and totally could be replicated with any state. I used some paint that I had left over, but if you want it to be more professional you could use a better paint for canvas.

 

The idea here is that my heart’s in Indianapolis. I love this idea especially because I’ll be moving away from Indy soon and I like the thought of hanging this in my new place. I also made one as a gift for my friend who’s also moving away, but put the heart over Bloomington because she went to school there and she loves IU. I also think painting it black and white would look good. I might even make a black and yellow Pennsylvania one for my brother who’s a huge Steelers fan. Black outline, yellow heart over Pittsburgh. So many possibilities. And so easy you should do it too!!

 

 

 

Supplies

Supplies

 

  • Canvas
  • Sharpie Paint Pen
  • Paint
  • Paintbrush
  • Cut out of your favorite state
  • Pin

 

 

 

Trace the state on the canvas using the paint pen.

 

Ta-Da!

Put a pushpin through the city where you’re going to paint your heart. That way you will have a small pin prick that will also be geographically correct for you paint your heart. I chose Indianapolis.

 

Start painting around your state outline

Finished project!!

 

Leave a Reply

